Personal Goals and Objections

As I’ve progressed a bit further into my LIS studies, I’ve realized a very important thing: I’m not sure I know what’s next. I am thrilled to be studying libraries, information and information systems, and the ethics behind librarianship. It is essential for me to consider the implications of a professional degree and what that means in the larger scheme of my career goals.

Currently, I work in communications with an emphasis in marketing. Although I enjoy several aspects of my work, I’m 100% positive that the current capacity that I am in is not a lengthy post. Instead, I can see myself working in the communications sector of a library, or perhaps dedicating my affinity for data and analytics in a role that is more suited for a professional librarian. All that in mind, I also have a growing desire to become more familiar with web development and the ways that people interact with information on the Internet.

Suffice it to say, I’m looking forward to my studies teaching me a bit more about where I’d like to see my future. With ample experimentation, interaction with my peers, and careful study, I foresee coming to an understanding about what makes me most passionate pertaining to libraries. 

 I will be pursuing a Graduate Certificate in Information Management with a specialization in either Information Analytics or Systems Implementation. I believe in due time, the specialization that makes the most sense for me will reveal itself. However, for now, I believe that I’d like to pursue a career that deals more in information and less in a library in the traditional sense. I love libraries, but I see myself utilizing my skills in another capacity.
 

Leave a comment